Superstitions

su·per·sti·tion – [soo-per-stish-uhn]

A belief or notion, not based on reason or knowledge, in or ofthe ominous significance of a particular thing,  circumstance, occurrence, proceeding, or the like

Growing up and still today, I have heard many weird superstitions from my parents. I’m not talking about the old don’t cross a black cat’s path or don’t open an umbrella indoors. I’m talking about genuine Indian superstitions (my parents are from India). It was and is a struggle to do anything because it seems like everything is bad luck

I generally don’t believe in superstitions but sometimes adhere to them because I don’t want any regrets. For example, if I open an umbrella inside and later get into a car accident, I don’t want to think “Damn! If only I hadn’t opened that umbrella!”

Some superstitions my parents have told me include:

  1. Don’t cut your nails at night
  2. Don’t cut your hair on Tuesdays (A barber shop owned by a true Indian will be closed on Tuesdays)
  3. Sneezing repeatedly means someone is thinking of you
  4. Sneezing an odd number of times means something bad could happen
  5. Tripping or stumbling before going out is bad luck. You must sit down for a few seconds to reset (same is true if you sneeze before going out – unless you sneeze twice. The sneeze doesn’t have to come from the person who’s leaving. It can come from anyone)
  6. Stepping on words (such as a newspaper) means you’ll have problems reading
  7. NEVER ask “where are you going” to anyone going somewhere
  8. NEVER pay bills on the 1st of any month (Basically, never lose money on the 1st)
  9. Laugh as much as you want to cry (WTF??)
  10. You should greet the moon whenever there’s a full moon

I’m sure there’s a lot more but this is all I can remember. I’m sure there’s bad things associated with left things. My cousin is left handed and I remember my dad forcing her to eat with her right hand when she was young. Also, I tend to get on my bike from the left side and my dad told me I should get on from the other side

Crazy Indians

Leave a Reply

