Calling All Photographers

I need help from the photographers floating around Word Space or anyone who can help

I was reading a photography book today and it said “..if you want the foreground, subject, and background all in focus, use a smaller f-stop.”

Am I missing something here? I thought a smaller f-stop would blur the background by giving a shallow depth of field. I could be wrong but reading other sources tell me otherwise

Shouldn’t it read “…if you want the foreground, subject, and background all in focus, use a LARGER f-stop”?

For context, the author, David P. Busch, was talking about tips on taking B&W pictures

If someone could set me straight, it’d be greatly appriciated. I thought I was the aperture king…not so much after reading that line

2 thoughts on “Calling All Photographers

  1. It can be confusing because larger numbers mean smaller opening and smaller numbers mean larger opening. I have heard “smaller f stop” used to mean the opening is smaller. But yeah, the larger the number, the greater the depth of field. f/16 has more background detail than f/4.

    • Ok. So he’s basically referring to aperture when he says f-stop. That makes more sense now!

      Is the phrase “smaller f-stop” used to mean smaller opening often?

      Thanks for clearing that up! Now I can sleep in peace tonight

Leave a Reply

