Firsts in ’12

It being 2013, I was planning to do a year in review type thing for 2012, but there’s nothing really to review – 2012 wasn’t all that exciting. I’m still breathing, I have plenty of food to eat and clothes to wear, and I have a warm and cozy shelter, so I guess 2012 was a success

I figured I’d do a list of firsts that occurred in 2012 instead. I’m probably going to forget a lot of things (my memory stinks) but oh well

2012 was

  1. The first time I went to the Auto Show in Detroit. It was also my first time in Detroit
  2. It was the first year I ever had a surprise birthday party. I had no clue so it was actually a surprise
  3. It was the first year I went camping. I ended up going twice. The second time was much colder. It was also my first time eating S’mores (I liked the graham crackers alone). It was also my first campfire (there was a fire ban the first time), and my first time in an inflatable boat. It was basically my first time for anything camping related (setting up a tent, sleeping in a tent, using sleeping bag, etc.)
  4.  It was my first time I had a Blog that I actually stuck with. I had one in my university days, but I only posted for a few months
  5. It was the first year I got a “hobby grade” remote control car
  6. It was the first time I seriously got into photography
  7. It was my first time swimming in over 2 decades (I actually just floated)
  8. It was my first time, in a long time, having ice cream from Dairy Cream (not Queen). It’s my favourite place to get a cone
  9. It was my first time flying a kite (in India). Apparently flying a kite is the thing to do there
  10. It was my first time playing and owning Monopoly

I’m sure there are more but that all I can think of right now. I’m sure I’ll get yelled at for forgetting some “special” event

So what am I looking forward to in 2013? Glad you asked!

I’ve got 25 177 chances to win the Heart & Stroke Lottery, the new Tegan and Sara album coming out at the end this month, reading (refer to Busy Bee post), and maybe getting an elliptical. It’s a pretty sad list but it is what it is. I’m also looking forward to spring/summer in general

Leave a Reply

