Questioning The “Fat Burning Zone”

While working out today, I thought about this whole “fat burning zone” thing. It just doesn’t make sense to me – I’m not naive enough to believe that if it doesn’t make sense to me, it’s wrong…but I will question it

Here’s my thought process: I know that calories and fat are inter-related (I’m strictly speaking in terms of “dietary calorie” and not “scientific calorie” so to all you scientists; don’t get your panties/tighty-whiteys/boxer-briefs/boxers in a knot). 1 pound of fat is about 3500 calories (I think). This obviously means you need to burn off 3500 calories for each pound of fat (weight) you wish to lose. This is assuming you eat nothing, which is crazy talk

With the above knowledge, how does working at a lower intensity for a longer period of time burn more fat? Let’s say 35 minutes at low intensity burns 300 calories and 30 minutes at a higher intensity burns 400 calories. Wouldn’t I be better off working out at the higher intensity? That’s like walking up to your boss and saying “No, I don’t want $10/hour. I want $3/half hour!” Insanity!

This calls for some researching. I’ll share my results when I get them

One thought on “Questioning The “Fat Burning Zone”

Leave a Reply

